Databases


Andover Databases for Research: What Do you Want to Know?

Your Library has added two computers for Research and Homework. These will be used to access the OPLIN (Ohio Public Library Information Network) databases and other online information.


To begin, see the Ohio Web Library!


Andover Public Library offers numerous databases, and also E Books for Children called Tumblebooks.


Scroll down this web page in order to see our many options for research and study.


If you have a research project and do not know where to start, ask our Reference Librarian Laura York for help!


 

Auto Repair Reference Center


The Auto Repair Reference Center database
includes automotive repair information supplied by Point 5
Technologies, Inc., under license from Nichols Publishing, the former
publisher of Chilton® Information and information from Delphi
Integrated Service Solutions. Auto Repair Reference Center contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and
imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes
starting as far back as 1945.

Health and Medicine

Pubmed: professional free medical database of the National Library of Medicine. Used by physicians and those doing extensive research on a health topic.


Medline Plus: The health database for consumers with full explanations of countless health topics. This database is a good place to begin research on a health topic.


 

Learning Express

Practice Tests for almost every occupation! Learning Express asks you to register, which allows you to save your work and continue where you left off.

Ohio Web Library

A very large list by subject of free databases for information on almost everything.

TumbleReadables

TumbleReadables is an online collection of read-along titles for elementary, middle school, and high school students which features adjustable online text and complete audio narration. Sentences are highlited as they are being read and the pages turn automatically. The collection features chapter books, early readers, YA/Teen Novels, high interest/low level books for both middle school and high school students, plus classics of American and English literature.


Read-Alongs are great for emergent, struggling, and reluctant readers, as well as being an excellent tool for ESL. They are also well received by strong and accomplished readers who are excited to follow along to the narration of their favorite books. Children, who are now growing up with e-mail, instant messaging, IPODs, and text messaging are early and willing adopters to this innovative online reading experience.

TumbleTalkingBooks


TumbleTalking Books give everyone an e-book to read. These are new books, classics, all kinds of audiobooks, unabridged. Below is the publisher's information about tumbleTalkingBooks:


About TumbleTalkingBooks


TumbleTalkingBooks are never all checked out, never on hold, and as many people can listen to the same book at the same time as want to do so.


Titles include unabridged high quality audio versions of classics of American and world literature, non-fiction, fiction, and children's and teen books. We have licensed audio books from audio book publishers like Blackstone Audio, Highbridge Audio, and Naxos Audio. We also offer plays and drama, including all cast versions of popular Shakespeare plays.


The Collection includes 65 Read-Along titles which combine large print online text with complete unabridged narration.TumbleTalkingBooks is ideal for readers of all ages and abilities and those learning English as a second language. TumbleTalkingBooks also offers a new category of library service to visually or mobility impaired members who want access to high quality recordings of popular books, delivered 24/7 to their computer via the Internet. TumbleTalkingBooks lets you bookmark your place and return and listen again at their convenience.  

World Book KIDS

Here is a dynamic on line encyclopedia and so much more for school and just to learn.

Copyright 2008 -2010 Andover Public Library
Site and Hosting By